A Brand New Day!

Horses

“Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?” 

That is one of my favorite quotes from literature.  I loved Anne of Green Gables as a young girl, and sometimes I still re-read it because of the wonderful peaceful feeling it brings.  Here is a girl, who despite her own flaws and many obstacles, set out anew with fresh hope and perseverance.  She followed her dreams.  She didn’t listen to the naysayers.  She determined her own future.  And through many dark moments, she knew that each new day was an opportunity to shake off everything that came before and start over.

For many, myself included, that is what a new year brings.  A time to do things differently, shake off the old, put on the new.  I have a few “New Year’s Resolutions” myself this time.

But a year is a long time to wait for a fresh start.  And I sincerely doubt that I’m gonna make it very far through the year without deviating from my well-laid plans somehow.  So I like to give myself a fresh start every day.

Don’t wait for January 1st to change your life.  Whenever I think of this quote from Anne I think of the Bible verse that I feel pairs perfectly with it: “The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”  Lamentations 3:22-23

Let your heart be renewed each morning, and know that when the sun comes up nothing that happened before matters now – no failures, disappointments, doubts, challenges, fears, missed opportunities . . . Today is where we live, and God makes each one new for us.

3 thoughts on “A Brand New Day!

  1. I just stumbled across your blog and so far really enjoy reading your post. I love this quote and especially love your last paragraph. I was up dealing with something and your post just reminded me that tomorrow is a new day and yesterday does not matter. Thanks for sharing.

Please, let me know what you think.

