God’s plans for us are awesomeer than car-carts!!

We have been blessed with a little extra spending money this week.  And since we haven’t gotten out much lately, my husband decided he wants to take our little one for a special outing tomorrow.  We want it to be exciting, and special and different – but we’re still not sure exactly where we want to take her.  We’ve even asked her where she would like to go, but anyone who has ever asked an open-ended question to a toddler (albeit a highly intelligent toddler) knows pretty much what you get.  And it made me smile to think how excited she is going to be. 

She knows we’re planning to go do something tomorrow.  But in the mind of a 2-and-a-half-year-old the idea of a great outing is probably the play-place at Chick-fil-A, or scoring a car-cart at the grocery store.  You know – it looks, kinda, like this . . .

Image 

. . . stuck on a cart so that the cart is too small for your groceries.  It’s primary job is growing strains of bacteria previously unknown to man.  And it’s completely, ridiculously, difficult to maneuver.  I really need to add “car-cart” as a covered auto to my insurance policy.  I ran over an old man just last week . . . but I digress.

So what gave my heart a thrill was this . . . Her sweet mind cannot even conceive of the amazing choices available to her: the big city zoo, a fancy lunch in a restaurant (yes, even at 2-and-a-half, she loves that), driving to the mountains to play in the snow.  Whatever she could come up with to wish for, my husband and I could come up with so many more, better, exciting things to offer her.  And that is what God will do for us!

“But as it is written: ‘Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man the things which God hath prepared for them that love Him.'” 1 Corinthians 2:9

No matter how grand are the dreams we cherish in our hearts, God’s plans for us are so amazing, so new, so much better that we cannot even imagine them.  Imagine the best things for yourself and your family that you can possibly imagine . . . God can blow that all away!  Make it seem like nothing.  And that is His desire for his children.

My prayer is that nothing else I may ask for would stand in the way of God’s best plans for my family and me.  And trusting in that – I can look forward to the future with excitement and hope, even in times that may seem disappointing, or feel like doors have been closed.

I can’t wait to spend tomorrow with my sweet family.

Please, let me know what you think.

